Locations & Services For Filming In Greece



Home > About Greece > General information

General information

Key facts of Greece

  • Greece is situated in Southeastern Europe, with an area of 131,957 sq.km. and a population of 10,964,020.
  • Athens is the capital of Greece with a population of 3,192,606.
  • Local time is GMT + 2 hours.
  • The Hellenic Republic is a Presidential Parliamentary Democracy.
  • President of the Hellenic Republic: Mr Karolos Papoulias.
  • Prime Minister: Mr Constantinos Karamanlis.
  • Parliament: Three hundred elected members with elections held every four years.
  • Greece is a member state of E.U. since 1981.
  • The currency is euro.
  • The Greek economy adopts the principles of free enterprise and is bound by the regulations of international organisations such as ECOFIN and WTO, of which it is a member.

Administration of the Country

Greece is divided into 13 administrative divisions, named "Peripheries" (Districts):

  • Eastern Macedonia & Thrace
  • Central Macedonia
  • Western Macedonia
  • Epirus
  • Thessaly
  • Western Greece
  • The Ionian Islands
  • Central Greece
  • Attica
  • The Peloponnese
  • The Northern Aegean Islands
  • The Southern Aegean Islands
  • Crete

The next level of administrative division is the "Nomos" (Perfecture). In total there are 51 Nomi, and one self-governed territorial division (Agion Oros, on Mount Athos).

Local Communities are named either "Dimos" (City) or "Kinotita" (Community). In total there are 900 Dimi and 133 Kinotites.